Skip to content

Brown Sugar

January 18, 2012

I don’t know about you, but I have a really hard time preparing healthy meals on a regular basis that I actually want to eat.  I am generally a pretty good eater, but I have a very healthy appetite and a sweet tooth!  My French/Italian heritage does not help because I constantly crave carbs in a major way. Each meal must have some sort of bread and pasta.  Confession: there are weeks when I eat pasta 4 nights in a row!

Anyway, one of the things I am trying to do in the new year is find some easy, healthy go to recipe to get me out of the habit of just boiling some pasta and being done with it.  My friend Katie recently got us girls a subscription to Martha Stewart Everyday Food and I am loving it! So much inspiration and Martha likes to keep things simple.

Here are some of the recipes I am going to try.

Zesty Lime and Avocado Salad

Skinny Taste

I made this one last summer and loved it and I am planning to make it again soon. January/ February are the height of avocado season so now is a great time to eat more if you enjoy it! I know I do. This receipt was very easy and you can definitely cheat a little on ingredients by using a simple salsa or pico del gallo.

Chicken Stew with Butternut and Quinoa

Cookin' Canuck

This looks fabulous and so perfect for the winter months.  I pinned this a while back and this is a good reminder that I need to try.

Asian Rotisserie Chicken Salad

Martha Stewart

This looks so easy and delicious. Buying (or cooking!) a rotisserie chicken can create lots of options for the week, as well.

Pan Seared Tuna Steak with Soy, Lime and Avocado

Simply Recipes

I never make tuna on my own, but I really do enjoy it.  A friend made a dish like this for a dinner she hosted a while back and it was simply delicious!  I think this is a must try.

I think this is enough of a list for now…do you have any favorite healthy recipes to share??

On another, non healthy, note, I made these home-made pop tarts last weekend and they where amazing and so easy!  Great winter weekend morning treat, using ingredients I already had.

Bake Me More

No comments yet

Leave a comment