Skip to content

In the Details

September 3, 2014

20140902-143420.jpg

They say the devil is in the details, and when it comes to decorating I think this rings true. I am a big fan of Erin and her blog, and I have been obsessively watching her home renovation over the last few months. As a fellow Bostonian, I think I related a lot to trying to update homes in this area, and her town is somewhere I think maybe I could end up someday.

Anyway, one of the things I loved was her attention to details throughout, adding little updates that will help with the longevity of the look, create extra storage, etc. There is something so interesting to me about design details and how they play a role in making (or in some cases breaking!) a space. Here are some of my favorite designs from around the internet. Do you obsess over design details?

20140902-143500.jpg

Loved this pretty breakfast nook, with a built-in bench, pretty wainscoting and a bead board ceiling, gorgeous detailing at its best.

20140902-143527.jpg

This tiling is just beautiful, herringbone subway tiles gives this shower something extra, add the beautiful brass hardware and you have a shower I am seriously coveting!

20140902-143559.jpg

Again with the wainscoting but there’s more- hidden storage! Definitely a great example of beauty and practicality.

20140902-145840.jpg

This beautiful tile color and hardware combination is so pretty, and you can tell some thought was put into the aesthetic here.

Images: 1/2/3/4/5
<

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

