Skip to content

WFH: The Good and the Bad

June 6, 2014

wfh

It’s hard to believe I have been working from home now for 9 months! In some ways it’s gone fast and in others very slowly, but I guess its safe to say I have adjusted and am definitely accustomed to my new routine. Now that I have had some time to reflect, here is what I learned:

The Pros: Not commuting and getting ready for work everyday definitely buys me a good hour and a half of extra time a day, making it much easier to schedule exercise. I can do early morning, during the day or at night which leaves me no excuse to skip….I wish I could say I don’t ever skip, but hey I’m only human.

It’s also really nice to be able to make my lunch as opposed to having to pack it in the morning and then bring lunch to work, only to waste it because I would rather head to the deli with colleagues to socialize. The eggs and avocado toast above is a go-to, as is grilled chicken salad.

From a work perspective, during really busy weeks I find that it’s much easier to buckle down and concentrate AND keep to my routine. When I worked in an office a busy week typically meant late nights at the office, skipping workouts, bad eating, but now I find that the days are longer but everything else stays on track.

The Cons: I hate that I don’t get to get dressed up daily. I love clothes, and have tons of beautiful work-appropriate clothing that just sits in the closet. I get tired of wearing workout gear or comfy clothes most days. I also really miss going to a colleagues and catching up in person or brainstorming client issues or ideas. I will say thank goodness for IM, so I do actually correspond with people a lot but it’s not the same as face-to-face.

And while it’s easier to concentrate its also easier to get distracted during slower weeks. A couple hours of laundry and some impromptu cleaning and before you know it half the day is gone.

So there you have it. The good, the bad and the ugly. Here are a few new habits I have learned to as I have adjusted as well. What are your thoughts on working from home?

  • Have a routine for when you wake up: make your bed, exercise, get dressed, make a to-do list for the day. It’s very easy to feel like you can get away with less of a routine when working from home. I find I am much more productive with a strict morning routine like I had when I went to an office.
  • Take long breaks when you can. Again, you no longer socialize throughout the day so it’s more important to take a break. I find if I can take some time to go to lunch, run errands and get out for longer than 15 minutes in the day it works well. Not always doable, but try!
  • Have a time when you shut down daily. It can be very easy to work really late since the lack of a commute doesn’t provide a natural cut off point. Even if you know you’ll check in later, take the time to close out for a bit to enjoy dinner and downtime.
2 Comments leave one →
  1. Thea permalink
    June 6, 2014 2:01 pm

    When I worked from home, I established a strict “pants required” policy. My routine included getting dressed up to “Casual Friday” standards. It’s harder to take yourself seriously in sweatpants covered with skulls.

    • June 6, 2014 2:13 pm

      Totally! In the beginning, there were days when it was 3 p.m. and I am still in PJs. Not OK. 🙂 I get dressed first thing, like I am actually planning to leave the house!

Leave a Reply

