Skip to content

Wall Sign for Baby A

June 3, 2014

wall sign

My best friend for more than 20 years is expecting her first child in July, a little boy who will be named Andrew. When she first told me she was expecting, I told her that I would help with nursery decorating. (Obvi.) She lives in Plymouth, a beach town here in the northeast and loves all things nautical so she knew she would want the baby’s room to have that look, but she didn’t want it to be too baby-like so he can grow into it and they won’t have to do a ton of redecorating as he gets older.

She also knew she wanted name sign over the crib, I sent her lots of options but the one she liked the best was the Ashton sign above from the Pottery Barn catalogue. Problem was, PB doesn’t sell the sign, just the letters used in it. I figured it wouldn’t be too hard to make so we went with that one. Over Memorial Day I built the sign, with a little help from my dear Dad. She loved it and I had fun making it, and it came pretty darn close to the PB version. Overall it was not overly complicated to make and it was nice to make it by hand instead of buying it.

Here’s what I used:

  • Paper mache letters from BB4Designs on Etsy
  • 1 board rough sawn wood
  • Sailing rope
  • White primer paint, thinned with some water
  • Super glue
  • Nails
  • Picture wire and D-ring hangers

sign 2

First, I laid everything out to measure what size board and rope I would need to fit the letters. Then I cut the board and painted it, sitting it in the sun to dry. I then used super clue to attach the letters and once they were dry my Dad attached the rope using some 3 inch nails. They don’t show through when you nail through the rope.

sign 3

I added a note from Aunt Jess on the back for Andrew to see once he is old enough…hopefully he likes the sign too!

IMG_5346

IMG_5360

One Comment leave one →
  1. Katie permalink
    June 3, 2014 8:36 pm

    Love it, came out so great !

Leave a Reply

