Skip to content

Spring Reboot

May 1, 2014

Healthy

One of the things I have been focused on is getting healthy and fit this Spring. Recovering from surgery last summer has been a very long, humbling and frustrating process. Moving was a huge a setback and sent me into three months of PT, but it was the best thing that could have happened. I had a great therapist and I am finally feeling better. I found great Spin and Pilates studios here in Boston and I am remembering just how much I love exercising. Especially now without so much pain.

Anyway, that’s the easy part. What is much harder is resetting all the bad eating habits I have picked up. Below are some of the things that have been working for me. I also took the Genuine Joy 30 for 30 challenge with Katie and some other friends and while it was tough to keep up and I did slip up a couple of times, challenging myself to move definitely helped me get into some better habits. I hope to keep it up this month!

  • I loved these ideas for how to detox via Style Me Pretty. Roasted broccoli has become a staple in my diet.
  • I have been on a smoothie kick for the last few months and love that they fill me up and help me get a healthy dose of greens, fruits and protein to start my day. I am addicted. Mine typically consist of greens, frozen berries, a banana, plain greek yogurt, peanut butter, coconut oil, dates, a bit of maple syrup, chia and flax. I also love this cinnamon bun smoothie recipe.
  • Having a kitchen stocked with groceries that support healthy habits has also been key for me. I loved this advice on how to stock your kitchen.
  • I have a sweet tooth and I gave up sweets for Lent and it made a huge difference in how I felt (and ate!). But we all have to give in to our sweet tooth sometimes, I just plan to do it a little healthier with this ice cream alternative (or this one) and this healthy fudge recipe is amazing.
  • I completed my first (successful) cleanse last week using Boston-based The Ripe Stuff. I love their juices and their cashew milk is an amazing post-workout treat, especially when warmed up with a touch of honey and cinnamon.

Images: 1/2/3

One Comment leave one →
  1. Katie permalink
    May 1, 2014 3:49 pm

    Cant wait to try the lemon parmesan herb broccoli ! Yum

Leave a Reply

