Skip to content

Tiny Kitchen Cooking

November 19, 2013
DSC_0028

Image Credit: Courcy Inspired Design

So the kitchen in my new apartment is TINY. Thankfully my good friend Whit’s husband made me (yes, made it) a great wooden kitchen cart which has given me some space to prep and I am able to cook a little more. However, cooking for one also presents some challenges. Buying tons of different foods and spices for a couple of meals a week gets pricey fast and I end up having all kinds of stuff I don’t use.

Anyway, if you are a Cardigans and Couture reader you know that Katie has been using Blue Apron lately and when there was a special on Gilt City a few weeks ago I decided to try it out. Basically they send you all the ingredients you need for three meals a week. You can choose vegetarian or meat options.

I got my first box on Friday and I was very impressed. The first meal I made was Butternut Squash Mac and Cheese. I enjoyed the experience because I was able to make a home cooked meal without schleping to the grocery store to pick up a ton of random ingredients, but had all the components I liked about cooking, like taste testing along the way. It was a great meal and I had lots of leftovers.

If you are a busy single or couple looking to take the guess work out of weekly cooking, this might be for you. I don’t think I will do it every week, but I can definitely see myself trying it out again. I like that it gets me out of my cooking comfort zone so I try new things. Next up Braised Beluga Lentils!

blue apron

Image Credit: Courcy Inspired Design

Measured out fresh ingredients/Step-by-step instructions with photos/ Creamy bechamel sauce with butternut squash/Mixing in the pasta/ Prepped for the oven with bread crumbs on top

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Emily Lawrimore permalink
    November 19, 2013 10:12 am

    So interesting! I might try these one day. Now that I am cooking for 2 I have to really plan my meals out. For some reason, my days of hummus, chips and a bottle of beer have ended…

  2. November 19, 2013 11:10 am

    Haha! That’s because you are a married woman now! 🙂

Leave a Reply

