Skip to content

DIY: Party Favors

July 18, 2013

succulents

My wonderful friends threw a “going-away” party for me last weekend. It was a great party and so much fun to be surrounded by people who I have been closest to in my 12 years in DC. I am so blessed to have had such a wonderful experience living here, with friends who are truly like family to me. As much as I am excited to move and for a new adventure back home, leaving here is definitely not easy, but I digress.

I wanted to make the party favors as a “thank you” for the guests. I loved these solo cup succulents from Camille Styles, and since the party was a Mexican theme I thought they would be perfect. I found the striped cups on clearance at Target in the party section and they were too cute to pass up, but solo cups would have worked great too. Here’s what you need and what to do.

DIY

It was pretty straighforward to make these. First use the glue gun to attach the pom-pom trim to the cup. Next fill the cups with potting soil and then carefully pot the cactus inside. Use gardening gloves, as I was stuck many times throughout the process. Camille used succulents in her version, they were a little expensive and since I was making a bunch I used cacti instead. Cover the soil with the decorative rock and voila!

DSC_0078

I added the thank you signs at the last-minute. I used cardstock from some leftover place cards, some gold leaf and wooden skewers. I rubbed the gold-leaf along the edges and and used a sharpie for the note.

These little numbers take some time, but are well worth the effort, I think they came out cute. Have a good day!

succulent 2

Image Credit: Courcy Inspired Design

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

