Skip to content

Confession Time

July 11, 2013

524965262f2821032f13ec6f23017be8

I have a little confession (?) to make, nothing crazy of course, but I have not been looking at Facebook since June 24. At a fun dinner with friends we got to chatting about the whole “life online” thing. One of my friends deactivated her account months ago and doesn’t miss it a bit. The others and I were in the category of just feeling like it’s become more of a distraction than anything else. I am a natural procrastinator so I feel like it makes it easy for me to put things off by looking at it.

Anyway, two of us decided to take a “break” until this week. I had to get on to post blog entries on the Courcy Design page, but I removed the app from my phone. I looked at notifications when I got on and sometimes looked at the top post (it was right there!) but other than that I didn’t look at all.

What did I find? I didn’t miss it one bit. I felt less stressed (it coincided with vaca, so it could be completely unrelated) but I also felt more productive. Are they connected? Who knows? After the first week, I stopped instinctively having to remind myself not to look and now don’t think about it at all. I may just keep this up for a while. Or just look once a week or so. I haven’t given up Instagram, which I LOVE, but I am much more choosy with followers and “ee’s” and I like looking at pics, so I enjoy it more.

Anyway, sorry for the ramble, but I am curious to know if others have taken a Facebook break and what they found. Did you miss it? Or would you never give it up because of the pure fun of it? Truth be told while I was in India I loved it because it helped me feel closer to home. Since I got back it’s been so much fun to watch what my friends on the other side of the world are up to. But recently it’s begun to feel less “fun.” I am not ready to deactivate any time soon, but maybe less is more for the forseeable future.

Image Credit

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

