Skip to content

Summer Blueberries

June 7, 2013

I love blueberries and look forward to summer every year when they are in season and taste the best. Growing up we had a blueberry farm down the street so there was no shortage of them around our kitchen and my Mom used to make blueberry pancakes, muffins and my very favorite, Blueberry Slump (recipe below). I have been picking them up weekly at the store or farmers market. Here are some recipes for eating blueberries all day long.

blueberries

Morning. I made this Apple Blueberry Oatmeal over the weekend and it was fantastic! I made some adjustments to the recipe, since I didn’t have apple juice I used a mix of water and almond milk. I also added a tablespoon of brown sugar and used walnuts instead of pumpkin seeds. Breakfast perfection.

Noon. I thought this Mango Quinoa Blueberry Salad would make a great summer lunch. I am always looking for ways to add more quinoa to my diet.

Night. Last but not least an old family favorite, Blueberry Slump. This recipe is the closest I could find to the one we make mostly by memory every summer. My Mom saw it in a newspaper or old cookbook and wrote it down (long before the Pinterest days!). The blueberry sauce and yummy dumplings served with some vanilla ice cream is seriously addictive.

What is your favorite way to use blueberries?

Images: Dash of East/ Courcy Inspired Design

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

