Skip to content

My Style: The Library

March 12, 2013

This post will be the first in a series “designing” some of the rooms I saw during my tour of the “before” DC Design House 2013 a few weeks ago.  I had so much fun looking at the inspiration boards for the designers, I thought it would be interesting to blog about how I might decorate some of these amazing rooms. This week, I am starting with the library, a dark panelled room on the main floor of the house.

design house

I have never been a fan of dark panelling, but this room had great light and an amazing fireplace so my first thought was to lighten it up a bit with some paint, I would do either a grey or a cream.  I really liked both of the rooms below.

panels

I think the room still needs to retain a more masculine feel, so I thought it best to keep it the chairs and window dressing pretty plain, without a ton of pattern. The grand fireplace definitely needed something standout to anchor the room, and I love the idea of multiple prints of the same size to create a gallery wall among the panels. I thought a neutral rug and gold accent furniture would complete the look.

Library
And the room would not be complete without a great set of accents, like a great bar set, a vintage record player, a cigar box and cutter and some whimsical bookends to add some style to the bookshelves.
room accesories

 

How would you decorate the library if you had this room in your home? Stay tuned for next week when I tackle the dining room!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

