Skip to content

Consignment Shopping

February 6, 2013

There is a GREAT little home consignment shop in my neighborhood called Miss Pixie’s. When I left for India the shop was closed for renovations and I finally got around to stopping in last weekend to check it out.  Miss P’s generally gets their inventory from estate sales and they are often stocked with lots of furniture, wall decor, home accessories, etc. I have lived in this neighborhood for close to three years now and have bought several items there, mostly home accessories, but also some furniture. For all you DC-ers it’s definitely worth checking out!

Below are some of the things I thought were the standout items last weekend and the items you typically run into in these types of shops.

I loved these Asian prints with the Bamboo frames. There were two, $55 a piece. I think I would paint the frames in a metallic gold, but they looked nice in the unfinished wood frames they already had.

miss ps

This black regency hutch was GORGEOUS. It has some nicks to it, but I actually think it added to the charm so you wouldn’t necessarily need to do any work to it. The price was on the high side $395, but I thought it would make a beautiful addition to a dining room, especially if you need storage that could also function as a place to display pretty china or bar ware.

Speaking of pretty bar ware. I loved these beautiful sterling silver cognac glasses for $8 a piece. They had a set of 8. I love using cool, vintage bar ware to style a home bar, like the photo on the right.

miss p 2I always love a cane back chair.  This one was very affordable at $40,  I would probably recover the seat, but it needed very little else.

Bar carts are another fave of mine. This one, For $300, was large enough to serve as a console table and was in great shape.

miss p 3

Lastly, I really liked this wooden side table for $80. They are selling a similar one at West Elm for $120, and it could easily be refinished in white, metallic or a bright color.

Image Credits 1/2/3/4/5/6

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

