Skip to content

Mushroom and Artichoke Tartlets

February 5, 2013

tartlet 2

I mentioned in an earlier post that I wanted to try a recipe I saw on Camille Styles for Artichoke and Mushroom Tartlets. I got my opportunity this weekend.  Here is what I used to make them:

  • 1 can artichoke hearts
  • 1 fennel, sliced
  • 1 onion, sliced
  • 1 garlic clove, sliced finely
  • 1 package Portobello mushrooms
  • 1 roll puff pastry
  • Olive oil
  • 30 g/ 2 tbsp unsalted butter
  • Parmesan shavings
  • Coarse salt and black pepper
  • 1 cup red wine

tartlet

I modified the original recipe a bit.  I used canned artichokes since I already had them in the house, so I did not cook them with the fennel. I also completely forgot to do the breadcrumbs as well. Overall though, it was a light and delicious meal for a Friday evening, post workout when I wasn’t looking for anything heavy. I remembered why I like trying new recipes so much: it gets me out of eating the same things all the time and gets me excited to cook with new ingredients I haven’t cooked before- like fennel! I will be cooking with it a lot more going forward.  Have a great day!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

