Skip to content

Christmas in Kerala

December 20, 2012

59391288805548641_caCoRzBc_cImage Credit Edward Lanyon

Since I have to be away from home, at least I get to be in this beautiful place, celebrating the Indian wedding of my friend Gayatri, who has become a dear friend over the last few months.  There is a big crew of she and her husband Ryan’s family and friends along for the adventure and I am so happy to have been invited.

Over the 6 days, I will visit Kochi, Kanyakumari and Trivandrum. This will likely be my last “fun travel” trip in India. After I return I head to work in Gujarat for most of the remainder of my time in India, before I return to the U.S. on Jan. 20.  One month to go- so hard to believe!

Below is what I packed. For the wedding I am donning a beautiful bright green sari, wearing very large (very Indian) blingy earrings and putting bangles on both arms. The rest of the trip you will find me in my uniform  of harem pants and a lightweight, loose top. We are very close to the equator here so sunscreen is a must to avoid very uncomfortable sun burns. And my biggest touristy accessory, sunnies, I don’t know how they do it with the bright sun, but many Indians don’t wear sunglasses at all! (Click the photo for image credits.)

kerala packing
2 Comments leave one →
  1. Emily permalink
    December 20, 2012 10:35 am

    Yay! I’m so excited to read of your return. And the upcoming wedding sounds really cool. Love lots!

  2. Caroline permalink
    December 23, 2012 5:07 pm

    Looking forward to seeing a post regarding the wedding. We can’t wait to have you back in the U.S.!

Leave a Reply

