Skip to content

Weekend in Goa

October 23, 2012

I took my first leisure trip away from Bombay and went to Goa last weekend. I stayed at the Alila Dawa Resort in South Goa and it was just lovely. The gorgeous infinity pool was a pretty vista to sit by and swim in and the staff was very nice and attentive.  My room had a lovely outdoor balcony with a cute little seating area where I did some reading.  On Sunday when I was leaving there was a wedding party coming in and the beautiful basin of marigolds were part of the decorations.

The beach was beautiful, not too many people hanging about, unlike the U.S. there is not a lot of beach lounging, that’s what the resort is for.  I loved the “off duty” fishing boat and to see those beautiful horses just hanging about was such a treat.  They live right by the beach with a family that sells handicrafts and takes tourists horseback riding.

Overall it was a great weekend to relax and see a different part of India. I loved how peaceful the village around the resort was. There were brightly painted bungalows to reflect the time when Goa was a Porchegese colony.  The adorable little girl in the photo works with her parents at the little handicraft shop where I picked up some souvenirs and she was sweet enough to let me take her photo.  Bottom line, if you ever get the opportunity to visit Goa definitely do!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Emily permalink
    October 23, 2012 8:42 am

    Looks like a wonderful trip! I’m so glad you are having so much fun. The horses are great too. 🙂

  2. October 23, 2012 8:47 am

    Thanks Em!

  3. Tracy permalink
    October 24, 2012 10:44 pm

    Amazing pics, Jess!

Leave a Reply

