Skip to content

Hemingway’s Whiskey

October 15, 2012

Good morning! I am going to skip the link “love” I usually post on Monday’s and post about books today. I am reading a lot in India. I don’t have access to all the American TV I usually watch and candidly, it’s a little tough, I watch a ton of TV at home! I have recently found myself going between three books at once and they couldn’t be more different, but I am loving them all.

Behind the Beautiful Forevers– This was given to me by a colleague in DC before I left as a going away gift. A friend of hers who spent time in India read it and recommended it. It’s an amazing story set in one of the largest settlements or slums in Bombay and I recommend for anyone wanting to get an inside look of the “Maximun City.”

One Night at the Call Center– This adorable book is by an Indian author who writes about young Indian life, as in post college 20 somethings, living and working in India. He has several books and this is my first but it pulls you right in. This one takes place at a call center in Gurgaon, Haryana. During the span of one night all of the leading characters confront some aspect of themselves or their lives they would like to change.

Night Circus– This one was recommended by a dear friend and I download it before I left. This book falls into the fantasy genre and it’s plot is centered on two dueling young magicians who don’t realize this is a battle to the finish and when they fall in love, things really get interesting.

What books do you recommend when I am done with these? Do you ever read more than one book at a time??

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

