Skip to content

China Grove

September 18, 2012

Via

Every once in a while I am blown away by a room that is solidly chinoiserie. I tend to be drawn to Asian art when it comes to museum collections (my favorite museum in DC is the Freer and Sackler, by far!), but I’m not sure if I want to fill my home with it. However, there is something so special about a room that balances chinoiserie and other elements just right.

Apparently the French coined the term chinoiserie and when used in decor it is likely to reflect Chinese qualities or motifs.  You see a lot of florals and bamboo elements in chinoiserie.  Today chinoiserie is typically characterized in a broader scope and refers to a mixture of Eastern and Western stylistic elements.  Here are some rooms I loved.


Via

Via

Via

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

