Skip to content

Greetings from Delhi

July 30, 2012

On my way here I watched the movie The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel, about a group of aging Brits who all decide to move to an Indian “retirement” hotel in Jaipur. It is a GREAT movie. One of the sayings in the movie is the one above and is referenced often, so it seemed a fitting quote to start the week off.  The movie helped me mentally prepare for what to expect here, but truthfully you have to see it to believe it.

One example, driving (driving in India requires nerves of steel!). Here you will share the road with cars, trucks, motor bikes, auto rickshaws, bicycle rickshaws, bicycles, cows, horses and pedestrians. Horns are honked incessantly and I am not sure how but it just seems to work.

I am delaying my travel to Mumbai for a few days, headed to Ahmedabad tomorrow.  I am finally starting to adjust to the time difference, although I probably won’t really adjust until it’s time to leave. Oh well! Here are some links to start the week.

DIY sparkly rustic tray from Cupcakes.

Cardigans and Couture has a fabulous post on style icon Viviana Volpicella, if you want to escape for a minute to the life of a Vogue assistant fashion editor.

Black and white decor inspiration on a budget.

The first thing I am going to do when I return to the states is get some tex mex, I guess you always crave what you can’t have. Like these yummy tostadas.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Emily permalink
    July 30, 2012 12:30 pm

    I love that quote! 🙂

Leave a Reply

