Skip to content

Paperback Writer

July 27, 2012

Happy Friday!  I hope you are on your way to a relaxing summer weekend. I am still overseas, but prior to my trip I wrote this post because after my trip I am headed out on a LONG summer vacation where I plan to do a lot of reading! Here is my reading list for the summer.  I am always looking to add to my book list so please let me know if you have suggestions!

Gone Girl, by Gillian Flynn-This book has been getting majorly good reviews all summer and when I went to buy it a few weeks back it was sold out at several bookstores on the Cape.  Set in the mid-west this thriller focuses on the disappearance of a young wife and what her husband may or may not have had to do with it.

The Next Best Thing, by Jennifer Weiner–  I feel like my summer vacation isn’t complete without a Jennifer W read.  Her books are perfect little escapes and I am positve this one won’t disappoint set in Hollywood and the rollercoaster of like in La La land for the 20-something heroine.

Rules of Civility, by Amor Towles– Set in New York City, post Depression and at the height of the Jazz era this book follows a young woman who learns that chance encounters can be the best kind.

Beautiful Ruins, by Jess Walter– The story begins in 1962 on the gorgeous Italian coastline and then begins again 50 years later and half a world away on a Hollywood movie set.

Steve Jobs, by Walter Isaacson– It’s a must read.  I own a ton of Apple products, I want to learn how to help myself and my colleagues be more successful, I want to learn more about the man.  What more can I say?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Tracy permalink
    July 26, 2012 9:17 am

    Jess, I just finished MWF Seeking BFF, a memoir from an author in Chicago about making friends as a grown-up. I loved it! xo

Leave a Reply

