Skip to content

Designer Spotlight: C. Jeré

July 26, 2012

Via

I first learned of C. Jeré  metalwork from an article in the November 2010 issue of Elle Decor and I was immediately smitten. The sculptures created by artists Curtis Freiler and Jerry Fels (also brother in-laws). The vintage pieces are classic 60’s and very symbolic of the modernist decor that is very prevalent on the set of Mad Men.  In fact, there is a C. Jeré sculture in the reception area of the Sterling Cooper Advertising Agency.  Now the original work be Fels and Freiler, signed C. Jere, is highly prized and sought after. Johnathan Adler has partnered with the company that once was Artisan House and reproduces many of the classics.

A couple of years ago I saw a listing for an original C. Jeré in Craigslist for $300.  It had the paperwork to prove its originality and everything…I hemmed and hawed and ultimately decided against making the purchase, and, truthfully have regretted it ever since.  Prices for the sculptures typically sell from about $500- 8,000 in some cases.  Alas, I will have an original C. Jeré in my home one day!  Check out some great use of the sculptures below.

Via

Via Pinterest

Via

Via

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 26, 2012 7:01 am

    wow fantastic post! I completely adore your blog… thanks for putting a smile on my face this evening….xxx Cat

  2. Pam permalink
    July 26, 2012 3:01 pm

    I’ve seen a couple of pieces from Jere on Craig’s List out here in SF – very nice. Priced around $750. I love the birds one!

Leave a Reply

