Skip to content

Whiter Shade of Pale

June 5, 2012

I have always been intrigued by the idea of decorating plain old roller shades in order to spruce up some window treatments.  Because I am an apartment dweller, plain roller shades are pretty much standard in rentals. In my current place, I am lucky to have some customized curtains courtesy of my talented Mom, but I still consider decorating the roller shades from time to time.  From an investment perspective, they are not expensive to replace and who knows, maybe your landlord will appreciate the upgrade.

There are so many ways to get the look. Fabric, stencils, ribbon or paint will all work. Here are some ideas I liked with lots of good tutorials on how to do it.

Great look and “how-to” from HGTV.

Greek key, always a favorite!

Via

Great look for a kid’s room from Little Green Notebook. Cup of Jo fans, this is little Toby’s room!

Always classy, I love the monogrammed look from Southern Living, they also give a great tutorial.

And if you want to get rid of the vinyl roller completely, here is a simple fabric roller DIY from Martha Stewart.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

