Skip to content

Being Original

March 2, 2012

Adorable (and very original!) V-day card from my Mom

One of the biggest challenges to blogging, as I am learning, is the quest to post original content.  There are so many great sites like Pinterest and the amazing Tumblr blogs which aggregate so many beautiful photos, but I fear that my site will look like everyone else’s and I certainly don’t want to take away from the hard work of the people who create all that amazing original content.

Now, the unofficial rule in the blog world is to use what’s out there but to give credit where credit is due, which I do my very best to do.  And I like to think some of my “originality” comes from the way I am grouping the photos and I ideas.  Because I don’t work in the design industry it can be hard to create my own stuff, however that being said I am going to make a commitment to trying to more regularly post some of my own content.  It gives me a great excuse to learn how to take better photographs and be creative!  So today’s post is the experiment of one of my ideas to post “snapshots” from my life and home that I hope you will enjoy.  Let me know what you think!

Ready for the weekend??  I know I am!  And the next couple of weeks are gonna be busy with two business trips, and a baby shower for one of my best, best friends!  And March is my birthday month so the end of the month will bring some fun time with great friends.  I don’t say it enough but thank you for reading and have a good weekend!

Best, Jessica

I used some really cool wrapping paper that one of my purchases was packaged in from my trip to Japan to cover some of the books in my collection. I love the idea of covering books with cool paper. I am thinking about covering some with the gorgeous bright orange paper my recent Tory Burch purchase was packed in.

As I mentioned last week, I have been trying to get in the habit of keeping fresh flowers around the house, these are my current bouquets.

I am getting very anxious to stop looking at my Spring clothes and actually wearing them without feeling like I look silly! Here are three pretty recent additions to my closet. (I actually wore the polka dot shirt dress yesterday because we had a 70 degree day here in DC-love it!!)

Spruced up mantel to help the transition into the warmer months.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

