Skip to content

Weekend Project

February 21, 2012

It’s been a while since I featured a DIY, but this weekend I was able to make some progress on the bedroom update that I mentioned a couple of weeks ago.  It’s no secret that I love greek key and for my bed room I knew I wanted to add some greek key accent pillows.  I also wanted to dress up the simple window treatment my Mom made for me this summer, so my idea was to add some greek key trim to the curtain as well.

I headed to JoAnn Fabric to buy some trim for the curtain and then during a visit to HomeGoods I found some pretty gray linen square Ralph Lauren Home accent pillows for $16.99 a piece. I had found some pillows on Etsy that were $75 a piece, which I really liked, but when I found the RL pillows at HG I knew I had to give it a try myself.

Here are some of the trims I was inspired by:

Via

Via

Via

I started with the curtain. I bought black grosgrain ribbon at JoAnn and broke out my hot glue gun. I cut the pieces that I needed to make the pattern for the curtain and laid it all out. Once I was satisfied with how it was laid out I began glueing the pieces onto the curtain. It was pretty simple, but I did burn myself a few times. The ever-present hazard of hot glue guns!

And viola!  I am pleased with the finished product.

Now on to the pillows…same process, I laid the trim out and then glued the ribbon on.

And the finished product looks very similar to my Etsy find for a fraction of the cost!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. emily permalink
    February 21, 2012 9:17 am

    Wow! Sooo cute. You are very talented.

  2. February 21, 2012 12:26 pm

    Thanks Em! 🙂

  3. Katie permalink
    February 21, 2012 11:00 pm

    Wow is right, so pretty !

Leave a Reply

