Skip to content

Winter Song

January 4, 2012

Tiny White Daisies

I don’t know about you but after the holidays I really enjoy taking down the decorations and starting fresh a little.  This year I actually re-arranged the main room in my apartment and it’s fun to start the year with a new look.  The hardest thing for me post-holiday is making the decor around the house wintery, but not holiday.  It’s too early to bring out the Spring stuff and personally I am not ready to give up my pine cone accents just yet.  Here are some ideas for winter appropriate accents to get you through the cold months in cozy style.

Blankets (obvi!) both functional and pretty.  I don’t think I could pull off the fur trend in my place but it’s very sophisticated and luxurious.

Living on the Chic

Pinterest

I love these great candle wrappers that can be made with recycled sweaters or if you are a knitter, I bet these would be very easy DIY…

By Stephanie Lynn

Here is another great DIY candle holder made with twigs.

Web Ecoist

Lots of options for pine cones (one of my favorites!). So many ideas and so cheap if you can find them in your yard :). My Mom and I had a field day picking them up in Cape Cod last year!

Factory Direct Craft Blog

The Inspired Room

I think this looks a little to Chritsmas-y BUT you could substitute the apples for pine cones.

Country Living

Speaking of branches I like the idea of using winter branches as an alternative to flowers or other greenery.

Celebrations

Houzz

And last but not least, wreathes. I like to have a wreath up all year long and change it with this season. I swapped out my green Christmas wreath for the gold one that was over my mantel through the holidays. Loved this gold one below, that can be made with thumb tacks!

Madigan Made

Real Simple

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

