Skip to content

Black and White Horse

October 6, 2011

Last weekend I was able to complete a DIY project I have been wanting to do for a while. Years ago I bought a couple of small benches for the end of my bed. At the time I liked the cushions but a few months ago as I started making a “purge pile” for the Goodwill I almost included them. Then I realized that I could probably recover the cushions myself and they can still serve as cute accent pieces and extra seating if I have guests.

I had purchased a Living Social deal for G Street Fabrics so I went in to try to use it to complete my project.I found some nice, cotton zebra patterned fabric, and purchased a staple gun. I was able to complete this project for less than $30. Short tutorial below.

"Before" Benches

Step one was to cover the existing cushions with the new fabric. As you’ll see below you basically wrap the pillow almost like wrapping a gift box, except be sure to make the edges more square than envelope-like. Then I secured the fabric in place with a staple gun.

Definitely liking the difference already!

And the finished product!

You may have noticed a furry friend in the first photo. Allie was my house guest and DIY helper!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. emily permalink
    October 6, 2011 11:27 am

    You are getting so good! Adorable.

  2. October 6, 2011 11:28 am

    Thanks Em!

  3. Katie permalink
    October 6, 2011 2:24 pm

    Great post. Love it!

Leave a Reply

